The Infield Fly
Infield Fly strikes runner on
If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly,
he is not out; although the batter is out if the ball is fair. And, if the
Infield Fly touches a runner while on the base in fair territory before
touching or passing an infielder, the ball is dead and no runner may advance.
See Rule 7.08(f).
Infield Fly strikes runner not on
If a runner is touched by an Infield Fly while not touching a
base (provided the ball has not touched or passed and infielder), both the
runner and the batter are out, and the ball is dead. See Rule
Example: Infield Fly is declared. Runner from first
unintentionally interferes with 2nd baseman, who is attempting to catch the fly
Ruling: On an Infield Fly, the ball is alive and in play.
Therefore, the runner is out for interference and the batter-runner is out
under the Infield Fly. Other runners return to the base occupied at the time of
Runner Interferes while In contact
If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when
he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a battered ball, the runner
shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance,
whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire
declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With
less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and the batter out.
With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out. See Rule