Situation 1 - One out, runner on
The batter pops a quick one-hopper to the first baseman. That
defenseman fields the ball, tags first base and then tags the runner who never
left the bag. Is this a double play?
The batter is out, but the runner
is entitled to remain at first since the "force" was removed before he was
tagged. See Rule 7.01 and 7.08(e).
Situation 2 -
Bases loaded and two are out.
The batter walks forcing all runners to
advance. The overzealous runner from second advances to and past third toward
home. The alert catcher throws to third and the runner is tagged prior to his
returning to the base, and before the runner from third touches the plate. Does
the run count?
The run counts since the run was the result of an award.