Field Locations
Schedules (Game / Practice)
Serra Gear
Snack Shack
Team Directory
Tourney Teams / Post Season
Tryouts / Divisions
Little League
Board of Directors
League History & Alumni
Sponsors & Fundraising
Contact Us
Serra Little League News

Serra Celebrates the 2014 Season

Serra Little League capped a fantastic 2014 regular season with the annual Closing Day Ceremony on Saturday at Serra Park. Representatives from all 21 Serra teams were on hand to celebrate the league's accomplishments. League President John Tracy helped preside over the hour long event that recognized player, parent and umpires for their contributions throughout the 2014 season.

John started the ceremony by recognizing the Board of Directors, who put in countless hours to ensure that the Little League Season runs smoothly. Several Board positions are opening up in 2015, so if you are interested, please contact John at: president@serralittleleague.com

Mehrnaz Hada was recognized for her work as the league's registration coordinator and snack shack volunteer coordinator, by being voted as the 2014 recipient of the Bob Bernhardt Award. This annual award is given to the volunteer who exemplifies the spirit of Little League Baseball with their dedication to the league. Mehrnaz was instrumental in bringing automated registration to the league in 2013 and has worked tirelessly to see that the snack shack was staffed.

Umpire Scott Erwin was recognized for his 50th and final season as a Little League Umpire. Scott began his tenure as an umpire in 1964 in Texas as a college student, and has officiated countless games that spanned six decades. He has been a mainstay on diamonds across the Bay Area, sharing his time, wisdom and great sense of humor to many a player, coach and parent.

Team accomplishments were recognized during the ceremony, with trophies being handed out to 1st and 2nd place teams in both the Majors and Minors Divisions. The Majors Rays took home top honors, representing 11 & 12 year old players, with the Majors A's finishing 2nd during the regular season. The Rays will compete in the Majors Tournament of Champions starting on Thursday June 12th (Majors TOC Bracket). The Minors A's collected their 1st place trophies after winning the Minors regular season title, with the Giants collecting 2nd place honors. The A's will compete in the Minors Tournament of Champions starting on Wednesday June 11th (Minors TOC Bracket).

The Challenger Division was recognized after completing their second season under the direction of Jeriann Hirsch. Challenger is the fastest growing division in Little League Baseball. Players coaches, and buddies were all recognized for their fantastic efforts in 2014.

The next generation of super stars was unveiled with the announcement of the 8U Tournament Team. This team showcases the best players from the league aged 8 or younger. They are slated to play in several friendship tournaments throughout the Summer, including the Moreland 8U Tourney in San Jose this week.

The 10/9 All Star Team was also named during Closing Day Ceremonies. Under Little League rules, 12/11 All Star teams could not be named until June 9th. 12/11 All Stars begin play on June 23rd (12/11 All Star Tournament Bracket). 10/9 All Stars begin play on June 24th (10/9 All Star Tournament Bracket) Rosters for both teams include:

12/11 All Stars: Ryan, Micah, Grant, Trevor, Matthew, Matthew, Brian, Joshua, Nolan, Trevor, Joshua, Spencer and Kobe

10/9 All Stars: Roy, Malcolm, Devin, Naoto, Ryan, Matthew, Gilbert, Ryan, Blake, Jacob, Justin, Josh, Nadim

Minors and Farm Inter-League All Stars squared off in exhibition games following the day's festivities. Rosters for the four teams include:

Minors North Team: Kyle, Nicholas, Ben, Jack, Roy, Roee, Michael, Mitchell, Jared, Nicholas, Andrew, Josh, Nadim

Minors South Team: Charley, Kyle, Tyler, Naoto, Ryan, John, Matthew, Joshua, Gilbert, Jason, Ryan, Jack, Ty

Farm East Team: Ann, Ariel, Alex, Pacey, Keshav, Jason, Matthew, Rodmehr, Alex, Matt, Nate, Yuhi, Victor

Farm West Team: Ryan, Andrew, Curtis, Luca, William, Leo, Matthew, Dylan, Joshua, Jasper, Raj, Nathan, Stephen.

Finally, players who have played continuously with Serra Little League for at least 6 years (from T-Ball and Pioneer) and who are aging out this season, were recognized by the league. Many of these players will continue on to Little League's Junior and Senior programs, travel and high school level baseball. Don't be surprised if you see some of these players on your television screens someday, as they dig into the batter's box for a collegiate or professional team. We wish them well in their future baseball endeavors.

Coaches from the upper and lower level teams squared off in an exhibition softball game to close out the day. It was a spirited affair with the upper division coaches blasting several balls over the fench to take the victory. The defensive MVP was Charlie Crane, who snarred severall line drives with diving stops at 3rd base. Pete D'Epiro was the offensive MVP, hitting a pair of home runs over the left field fence.

As we close out another fantastic baseball season, the Serra Board of Directors would like to extend a big thank you to all the parent volunteers who made this year such a success. As is the case with all youth sports, parents drive the outcome of a season, so it's imperative that we all take a moment to reflect on the great support our players and coaches received from you this year.

As Scott Erwin so eloquently stated in his remarks last Saturday, we must all be an example of community and sportsmanship to our children. Here's to a great 2014 season.

Mehrnaz Hada receiving the Bob Bernhardt Award for
Outstanding Service to Serra Little League

50 Year Umpiring Veteran Scott Erwin
saying farewell to Serra Little Legue

2014 Serra LL Majors Champions - Rays

2014 Serra LL Majors Runner Up - A's

2014 Serra LL Minors Champions - A's

2014 Serra LL Minors Runner Up - Giants

2014 Serra LL Challenger - Pirates & Challenger Buddies

2014 Serra LL 8U Tournament Team

2014 Serra LL 10/9 All Stars

2015 Serra Minors North Internal All Stars

2014 Serra Minors South Internal All Stars

2014 Serra North & South All Stars

2014 Serra Farm East Internal All Stars

2014 Serra Farm West Internal All Stars

2014 Serra Continuous Play Award Recipients

2014 Serra Managers & Coaches

© 2010 - 2012 Serra Little League